Swift Owners Club - 40 years of landmarks


The Club was formed in August 1971 when 42 couples responded to an advert placed in Practical Caravan magazine seeking support for the formation of an owners club. The inaugural rally was held at Alton Towers with 28 vans attending.

Shortly afterwards a constitution was drawn up and a second rally arranged. The Club was here to stay!

The following year a visit to the Swift factory took place followed by the very first Annual General Meeting, which was held at Billing Aquadrome. Since then the Club has gone from strength to strength and has raised many thousands of pounds for charity along the way.

Here are some highlights:

1971 Inaugural rally held at Alton Towers in August
1972 First works rally - members visit the factory see how their vans are made
1974 First continental rally. It was held at an RAF station in Berlin. Thirteen vans were escorted through the ‘Berlin Corridor’
1975 50th rally, held at Newark
1979 100th rally, held at Welbeck
1984 200th rally, which included another visit to the Swift factory
1989 First edition of our Club magazine 'Going Places' launched. 400th rally held
1992 The Club becomes a member of ACCEO (Association of Camping and Caravanning Exempt Organisations)
1994 Two fully equipped Swift caravans presented to the Red Cross from the proceeds of our Charity year plus a “top up” from Swift
2000 800th rally held at Leamington Spa. SOC hosts the first ever Swift Group rally (held at Stanford Hall). 350 outfits attend
2002 900th rally held. The first second generation Swift owner is appointed to the Committee
2003 The Club hosts the second Group rally at Stanford Hall. More than 300 outfits attend. £2,500 raised for Cancer Research UK
2004 The Club raises £5,000 for the charity the National Association for Colitis and Crohns
2005 1000th rally, held at Newark. The cake was cut by two founder members
2006 The Club hosts the third Group rally at Stanford Hall. More than 300 outfits attend. £2,500 raised for Cancer Research UK
2008 The Club opens its doors to owners of other touring brands from within the Swift Group
2011 The Club celebrates its 40th birthday. Special rally in August, close to the site of the inaugural rally


Presidents and Chairmen

Presidents     Chairmen  
1971 - 1977 No appointment   1971 - 1973 Cecil Carling
1977 - 1982 Joe Rushworth   1973 - 1977 Joe Rushworth
1982 - 1989 Joe Bowers   1977 - 1980 Joe Bowers
1989 - 2000 Dr David Lee   1980 - 1987 Chris Stock
2000 - John Rowe   1987 - 1991 Norman Scotting
      1991 - 1993 Keith Phipps
      1993 - 1997 David Spall
      1997 - 1999 Barry Watson
      1999 - 2000 John Brailsford (Acting)
      2000 - 2003 Ron Ward
      2003 - 2008 John Brailsford
      2008 - 2013 Terry Milsom
      2013 - 2015 David Spall
      2015 - Don Munro